This is ME.

I don’t typically write posts that are personal in any way. In fact, many of my posts are quick copy and pastes of newsletters or other social media posts. I strive to cover all my ground to keep all of you up to date. I don’t have a HUGE blog following so it normally gets slightly neglected.

I value my privacy and truly believe privacy is a lost art… A tool that is rusting in today’s society. This post will in no way be a tell all or a BEHIND the scenes scoop of Appliqué Alley … But I would like you to know a little more about the designer you entrust with your creations. Honestly, I’m pretty normal and there isn’t too much to tell. ☺️

First off… My name is Emily and I’m currently 32 years old. I’m a simple work at home mom trying cling to God, get in shape, keep a happy husband, entertain my children, work, get enough sleep (NOT), etc etc etc. I enjoy a good book or movie and a glass of wine. I might have a slight addiction to my scentsy burners. (I like my house to smell yummy.). I have an even bigger addiction to make up and perfume. I’m not kidding y’all… I AM ADDICTED. I love it!!! I struggle to balance it all … So if you have any pointers, I would LOVE to hear them. Working at home is a HUGE blessing for our family dynamic but it doesn’t come without it’s own trials. It’s always a work in progress.

Here’s the last “family portrait” of my little family:

IMG_9797-1.JPG
I started Applique Alley 4 1/2 years ago. At the time, I had a home painting business (canvases, door hangers, and such). I LOVE PAINTING… But I was still searching for something. Then a friend purchased an embroidery machine… She couldn’t always find what she was looking for … I could draw … The rest is pretty much history. I bought the software and promised myself (and my husband) that I would teach myself and pay it off in a month. Thanks be to God, I was able to do just that.

I have been very blessed to come across some amazing women over the last 4 1/2 years… I have also come across many people that surprise me! (Good and Bad)

I attended a women’s retreat this past weekend with one sweet girl that I met through my work. I tried to prepare my heart but sometimes I simply don’t know how to do that. Honestly, I have trouble clearing my head enough to prepare DINNER at times… Ha!!

I was excited to learn some new things but I was just as excited to get out and be EMILY. At first, it was pretty much what I expected… Good fellowship, good food, and good stories… Then, it all started sinking deeper. Today, I am not the same as I was yesterday … And it’s good. I am choosing not to share what I learned (for now) because I doubt God would speak the same message to you as he is speaking to me… If I’m being honest again, I AM STILL TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT HE IS TRYING TO TELL ME!!! I’m not sure… But I know it’s something good.

IMG_9795.JPG
Ok. So this isn’t an earth shattering blog post that will go viral and become a national trending topic. That’s ok. There’s enough to inform and possibly maybe even enough to inspire? Simple and real… THIS IS ME.

2 thoughts on “This is ME.

  1. Well, you may think it was pretty simple and maybe mundane compared to other blogs. Frankly I don’t read many myself. But how fitting, from a personal, professional, and Christian standpoint, that I read your simple, yet perfect message, today. I, too, like some of the things you mentioned, albeit lacking some of the artistic talent to create the same way you do from the start to finish of a design finish, but the tools you provide me and the drive to do better with each project are also in my everyday rushed life as a stay-at-home mom/work-at-home medical transcriptionist. I love your work–it helps me work, too, so thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

